And that's how Simon sez it.

Jag tänkte här publicera ett gammalt (6e juli 2006) inlägg från min Livejournal, i vilken jag skrev då jag var en svartklädd  och ångestfylld tonåring med rätt hyfsade engelskakunskaper, därför att det är så intressant jag tänkte referera till det i ett kommande blogginlägg in writing (även om ingen kommer orka läsa så långt att de når just den biten.) Jag kan även berätta att det inte var lätt att hitta det bland cirka sex års skriverier, då jag inte lyckats hitta någon sökfunktion för inläggen och därmed var tvungen att gissa bland rubrikerna. Av någon outgrundlig anledning had just den här texten ett citat från omslaget till en X Men-tidning.
Huvudrollerna i filmen i fråga spelas för övrigt av Dennis Rodman, Emma Sjöberg och Jérôme Pradon. Två av dem var vedervärdiga som skådespelare, den tredje mest förbryllande malplacerad.



I have now seen Simon Sez and I can't quite decide whether to be delighted or appalled.
I mean, on one hand, the whole point/moral of the movie seemed quite obvious: gay-ish guy and his band of men in makeup kidnaps young woman and thus endangers her healthy relationship with male model french guy, macho hero who has proven his heterosexuality by sleeping with a tall Swedish woman model and his three sidekicks (guy who's not the classical masculine archetype perhaps but dreams loudly and groanily of Drew Barrymore, and two monks) together with French guy set out to save the woman. Gay-ish guy and his men in makeup end up being killed, electrocuted and finally blown up. French guy & young woman get married, and once again heterosexuality has prevailed.
On the other hand, Jérôme as the gay-ish (I dunno, maybe the -ish makes it a bit of an understatement) villain was absolutely fabulous. Sure, that might not exactly have been serious acting but oh my goddess. And whoever on imdb said he was overly camp apparently hasn't seen (T)traumship Surprise/Dreamship Surprise. Which I have.
On the third hand, wherever that suddenly came from, is it common in action movies for the villain not to have a last name? I just can't remember anyone calling him anything else than just "Ashton".
Anyway, it was a fun change in a way to see Jérôme in a role such as this, having until yesterday only seen him in JSC 2000 (one word: tortured) and Paradisco (serious, mature, and as someone said in the court métrage itself; deep). The man has such range in his acting abilities. ... :) :D <3
About the ending, every site (all two of them, I googled) that has the quote about the Eiffel tower on them, claim that he wanted to blow it up (the tower) because "it's big and it's beautiful and I'm tired of looking at it."
Am I the only one who hears him say "it's big and it's delicious"? Not that I see any logic in that version of the sentence, but that is what it sounds like. So I'm quite puzzled here

And then, of course, I have to mention the singing. Lovely. But what on earth was that song? I've googled every single line of it separately and there's nothing. Does that mean this was soemthing he just made in the French inland heat of the moment? It even rhymes.
Here's the lyrics, transcribed for ya. By me. So it could all be wrong.

"When I kiss your lips
It's like I just touch fire
Oh naughty boy can you be true?
I look into your eyes
Fills me with this mad desire."

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback